Travis McVey: Student leader today, alumnus tomorrow

When Travis McVey came to Missouri S&T he knew he wanted to get involved. The petroleum engineering senior found the type of involvement he was looking for with STAT (Students Today, Alumni Tomorrow). [Read more…]

Beam me up, Rolla

As Leach Theatre drops the curtain on its 25th anniversary season, it is time to reflect on a season well-spent and begin preparations for the next 25 years. [Read more…]

Celebrating silver, aiming for gold

In July, the Solar Car Design Team commemorated 25 years of racing with an eighth-place finish in the Formula Sun Grand Prix, held on the Circuit of the Americas Formula 1 track in Austin, Texas. Team members say this race sets them up for an even more successful season next year, when the team returns to the cross-country American Solar Challenge race. While the course has yet to be decided, the team is already preparing for its next challenge. [Read more…]

Curators approve master plan updates

By next spring Missouri S&T should once again have a driving range on the former golf course property. That change, as well as additional improvements to athletics facilities, were part of an updated Campus Master Plan approved by the UM System Board of Curators in April. [Read more…]

Christopher G. Maples named interim S&T chancellor

Christopher G. Maples, president emeritus of the Oregon Institute of Technology, began his duties as interim chancellor of Missouri S&T on May 15. [Read more…]

Engineering a rescue

The night Brian Hunt died, volunteer firefighter Cody McKellips vowed to find a better way for fire and rescue teams to speed up water rescues, particularly as flood waters rise. [Read more…]

Academy inductions

At ceremonies held in October and April, 38 alumni and friends were inducted into Missouri S&T academies. Academy membership recognizes a career of distinction and invites members to share their wisdom, influence and resources with faculty and students.


  • Dutro “Bruce” Campbell, ChE’92
  • Mike Schmidt, ChE’80, MS ChE’85


  • Becky Baltz, CE’84, EMgt’84
  • Claudia Hoeft, CE’90
  • Paul Kronlage, CE’83
  • Mary Lamie, MS CE’98
  • John Priest, CE’52
  • Tom Wolff, CE’70
  • Shamsher Prakash, professor emeritus of civil, architectural and environmental engineering (honorary member)


  • Dean S. Ford, EE’95
  • Tina E. Gaines, EE’89
  • Mark R. Hoffman, EE’86
  • Marcus A. Huggans, EE’96, MS EMgt’97, PhD EMgt’98
  • Kevin J. McEnery, EE’86
  • Michael E. McEnery, EE’85
  • Gregory A. O’Neill Jr., EE’65


  • Gerard Hart, EMgt’71


  • Andrea C. Dorr, AE’92
  • James R. Friend, ME’92, MS ME’94, PhD ME’98
  • L. Wayne Garrett, ME’72
  • Michael Ludwig, ME’78, MS EMgt’88, MS SysE’05
  • David C. McMindes, ME’88
  • Jeff Thornburg, AE’96


  • Laurie Behm, LSci’84, basketball and cross country
  • Donald Hahn, ME’72, baseball
  • David “Willie” Vonarx, CE’89, cross country
  • David Wisch, CE’75, MS CE’77, football


  • Dane L. Cantwell, PetE’85
  • Robert Duenckel, PetE’74
  • Matt Hinson, MinE’01
  • Braden Lusk, MinE’00, PhD MinE’06
  • Gary Pennell, MetE’96
  • Hans Karl Schmoldt, GGph’72, GeoE’78
  • Genevieve Bodnar Sutton, MetE’98, MinE’01
  • Greg Sutton, MinE’88
  • Ron Tyson, GeoE’91
  • Patrick Wagner, PetE’86, MS PetE’88
  • Steve Wunning, MetE’73

Not so lost in space

Missouri S&T teacher education students Marisa Tompkins (above, right), a sophomore in multidisciplinary studies and elementary education, and Frances Manahan, a junior in applied mathematics and secondary education, learned how to incorporate the study of outer space into lesson plans at the Space Foundation’s Space Symposium, held in April in Colorado Springs. [Read more…]

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma performs at S&T

On March 4, acclaimed cellist Yo-Yo Ma became the 32nd presenter in the university’s Remmers Special Artist/Lecturer Series. Ma began studying cello at the age of 4, attended the Juilliard School and in 1976 graduated from Harvard University. He has received numerous awards, including the Avery Fisher Prize (1978), the National Medal of Arts (2001), and the Presidential Medal of Freedom (2010). In 2011, Ma was recognized as a Kennedy Center Honoree. [Read more…]

Burken joins EPA advisory board

Joel Burken, Curators’ Distinguished Professor and chair of civil, architectural and environmental engineering at Missouri S&T, was chosen to serve on the EPA’s Science Advisory Board (SAB). He joins a panel of experts from across the country in areas like epidemiology, public health, medical research, biology and other fields related to protecting human health and the environment. [Read more…]