Archives for March 2012

Professional degrees

During commencement in December, Missouri S&T conferred professional degrees on the following alumni:

  • Nola Rebecca Johnson, CerE’83, MS EMgt’92, PhD EMgt’99, deputy to the commanding general, Maneuver Support Center of Excellence at Fort Leonard Wood, Mo.
  • Dale M. Pitt, AE’72, MS AE’75, Boeing Technical Fellow in the field of aeroelasticity, unsteady aerodynamics and adaptive structures
  • Gary D. Pennell, MetE’97, chief metallurgist at Nucor-Yamato Steel Co.
  • William A. “Bill” Rehm, GGph’51, a consultant working with the IADC to develop texts on drilling technology
  • George E. Uding, ME’59, retired resident and chief operating officer of Medusa Corp.

Congrats graduates

A record number of students celebrated their graduation at the Grad Finale on Dec 8. At the event, hosted by the Miner Alumni Association, 136 grads enjoyed food, games and door prizes. Susan Watson-Hajjar, CSci’83, donated multiple gift cards and an LG 32-inch HDTV for the grand prize. Michael Pendergrass, ME’11, was the lucky winner.

Scholarship Banquet

Alumni association scholarship endowment donors and their scholarship recipients will meet during the association’s Scholarship Banquet on Friday, April 20. More than 400 students who receive scholarships will be honored at the banquet. Donors who provide named scholarships through the association will sit with the students who benefit directly from the donors’ generosity.

Back to school, pursuing a dream

Laura Warren

(Photo by B.A. Rupert)

In 2005, metallurgical engineering major Laura Warren was riding in a vehicle that got hit by a train. The driver, her friend’s father, was killed in the accident.

[Read more…]

Welcome, Mr. President

Tim Wolfe

(Photo courtesy
of University of Missouri System)

Former computer software executive and University of Missouri-Columbia graduate Tim Wolfe was named the 23rd president of the University of Missouri System on Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2011. He began his duties in February. He succeeds Gary Forsee, CE’72. For more information about Wolfe, visit

Fall 2011 Career Fair

Career FairCareer opportunities and employer relations hosted the Fall Career Fair on Sept. 27 with 210 employers and about 135 alumni returning to recruit graduates of their alma mater. Prior to the career fair, the Miner Alumni Association, along with Students Today, Alumni Tomorrow (STAT) and Engineers Without Borders, hosted a continental breakfast for the recruiters.

[Read more…]

Taylor Keal: in the game

Taylor Keal

When she is not on the field, Keal, a native of Blue Springs, Mo., is preparing for a career as a lawyer. She is currently a junior majoring in business. (Photo by B.A. Rupert)

Taylor Keal has been a softball pitcher since she was 10 years old. But she cannot remember being a part of anything like what she experienced on April 10, 2011.

[Read more…]

Rocky Mountain Section: Racing in the mountains

Rocky Mountain Section
Inside the 60,000-square-foot climate-controlled Speed Raceway in Englewood, Colo., Rocky Mountain Section alumni felt the wind in their hair and the thrill of flying past fellow alumni for the title of “King/Queen of the Road.”

[Read more…]

Hail to the (past) chiefs

past presidents

From left are Art Baebler, ME’55; Matteo Coco, CE’66; current President Susan Hadley Rothschild, CSci’74; Gerald L. Stevenson, ChE’59, MS ChE’63; Perrin Roller, GeoE’80; Darlene (Meloy) Ramsay, MetE’84; Larry L. Hendren, MinE’73; Robert T. Berry, CE’72; Robert M. Brackbill, MinE’42; Zebulun “Zeb” Nash, ChE’72; Marianne Ward, executive vice president of the Miner Alumni Association; and James E. Bertelsmeyer, ChE’66. Not pictured: Robert Bay, CE’49; James R. Patterson, CE’54; and John B. Toomey, ME’49, MS ME’51. (Photo by B.A. Rupert)

It’s pretty easy to pick out the past presidents at any meeting of the Miner Alumni Association board of directors. They’re the ones seated together in the back corner of the Havener Center meeting room, where the directors gather for their spring and fall meetings.

[Read more…]

LaBoube named to ‘Power List’

Structural Engineering and Design magazine named Roger LaBoube, CE’70, MS CE’73, PhD CE’77, to its 2011 “Power List.” Each year, the magazine recognizes 10 leaders in the structural engineering sector for developing solutions to some of the world’s toughest problems. LaBoube, an expert in cold-formed structural steel, is a Curators’ Teaching Professor emeritus at Missouri S&T. He is also director of the Wei-Wen Yu Center for Cold-Formed Steel and director of the Kummer Student Design Center at Missouri S&T.