Football Miners honored by GLFC

Posted by
On March 12, 2009

Missouri S&T won the Great Lakes Football Conference championship in 2008 and the league’s all-conference team was a reflection of that. The Miners had 13 players chosen for the squad and won six additional awards for their performance.

Ten of the Miners chosen were first-team selections and Miner head coach Kirby Cannon was named GLFC Coach of the Year. Wide receiver Mike Greaving, CE’08, was named Offensive Player of the Year. He and five teammates were named top players at their respective positions.

Six of the first-team picks were on the offensive side of the ball, including three from the offensive line. Guard Justin Hansen, a senior in civil engineering, was named top offensive lineman and was joined on the first team by center Dan Hickman, a junior in mechanical engineering, and guard John Krumme, a junior in chemical engineering. The linemen were joined on the first team by Greaving, quarterback Jason Schlueter, a junior in mechanical engineering, and tight end Bryan Crider, a junior in engineering management.

On defense, S&T had two players named as the top players at their positions. Defensive tackle Justin Philpy, a junior in aerospace engineering, was top lineman, and safety Robbie Woodard, a senior in mechanical engineering, was top defensive back. They were joined on the first team by defensive end Matt Loula, NucE’08, and linebacker Justin Butler, a senior in education.

S&T finished the 2008 season with a 7-4 record and won a conference title for the first time since 1983.

Posted by

On March 12, 2009. Posted in Sports, Spring 2009