Career Fair continues to grow

Career Fair

(Photo by B.A. Rupert)

Career opportunities and employer relations hosted the Spring 2012 Career Fair on Feb. 21 with 178 employers in attendance. That’s a 17 percent increase over last spring, and 29 of the employers were new. S&T students visited with more than 500 recruiters representing 29 states in hopes of landing a job, internship or co-op opportunity.

Prior to the Spring Career Fair, alumni recruiters were treated to a continental breakfast courtesy of the student alumni association, Students Today, Alumni Tomorrow (STAT), and Engineers Without Borders.

Career Fair Breakfast Attendees
Kristin Arora EE’09; Ed Bradley EE’84; Scott Clodfelter ChE’04; Duane Dierschow CerE’80; Rachel Fetters EnvE’09; Danny Johnson EE’85; Doug Johnson EE’88; Matt Kerkemeyer EE’09; Nick Mazza ChE’98; John Middleton GGph’73, CerE’75; Brad Morgan MetE’05; Xavier Naeger MinE’11; Brandon Petty CSci’05; Mike Preston ChE’88; Adam Randles ME’11; Alison Schaefer ME’02; Steven Schwalbert ME’11; Aditya Sharma EE’10; Kailen Shores NucE’11; Tony Smith ME’92; Daniel Stark EE’09; Brian Syers MinE’09; and Aaron Trenshaw ArchE’11. Missouri S&T representative: Nancy Zamazanuk.

Spring Career Fair Attendees
Will Atkins ECE’05, MS ECE’07; Allison Bohn EMgt’08; Brent Bossi AE’90,MS AE’91; Dustin Broglin EMgt’10; Roger Broman MetE’94; Josh Cawthon ME’11; Nick Codutti MfgE’08; Jarred Crouch ME’01; Mike Davis EE’91; Josh Eads CSci’08, CSci’10; Justin Enderle ECE’07; Gerad Fox CE’08; Matt Goeke ECE’10; Brett Goodman CE’93; Dominic Griffin ME’88; Tim Hand ME’01; Greg Hanlin EE’89; Brittany Harrington ArchE’10; Valerie Houseman CSci’07; Angie Kolb CE’96; Lou Kuelker CE’06; Dan Krueger CerE’94; Brad Lind EMgt’96; Dennis Linck EE’85; Kirsten Luer EE’10; Rodrick McDonald ME’07; Zach McGovern ME’11; Tom Mueller EMgt’80; Katie Niehoff ME’11; Jeff Ostermann MetE’96; Vanessa Pingsterhaus EE’10; Matthew Raterman EE’01; Oran Reeves EMgt’87; Terry Roberts CE’82; Derek Rowland EE’10; Pamela Ryder BAdm’11; Jacob Scherer MinE’05; John Sullivan MSys’03, IST’04; Shannon Todd GeoE’99; Nick Tourville ME’11; Robert Turner MetE’94; Matt Vigil ME’08; Matthew Wicks EE’93; Brian Wright GeoE’01, MinE’05; and John Yates ME’87. Missouri S&T representatives: Marianne Ward and Nancy Zamazanuk.

Around the Puck

Q&A: Miners got game

What was the most memorable sports team during your time on campus? As part of his research for the S&T 150th history book, Larry Gragg, Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor emeritus of history and political science, asked you to share your memories. Here are a few of your answers.

[Read More...]

Honoring new academy members

In October, 12 alumni and friends were inducted into Missouri S&T academies. Academy membership recognizes careers of distinction and invites members to share their wisdom, influence and resources with faculty and students. Some academies hold induction ceremonies in the fall, others in the spring.

[Read More...]

Boosting cyber-physical security

A wide array of complex systems that rely on computers — from public water supply systems and electric grids to chemical plants and self-driving vehicles — increasingly come under not just digital but physical attacks. Bruce McMillin, professor and interim chair of computer science at Missouri S&T, is looking to change that by developing stronger safeguards […]

[Read More...]

MXene discovery could improve energy storage

In spite of their diminutive size, 2-D titanium carbide materials known as MXenes are “quite reactive” to water, a discovery S&T researchers say could have implications for energy storage and harvesting applications such as batteries, supercapacitors and beyond. Their findings were published in 2018 in the American Chemical Society journal Inorganic Chemistry.

[Read More...]

A faster charge for electric vehicles

One drawback of electric vehicles (EVs) is the time it takes to charge them. But what if you could plug in your EV and fully charge it as quickly as it takes to fill up a conventional car with gasoline? Missouri S&T researchers, in collaboration with three private companies, are working to make speedy charging […]

[Read More...]