W. Lance Haynes, professor of speech and media studies, was named chair of arts, languages and philosophy in November.

James Drallmeier, Curators’ Teaching Professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, became chair of that department on Jan. 1.
William P. Schonberg, professor and chair of civil, architectural and environmental engineering, received a NASA Engineering and Safety Center Honor Award for outstanding leadership, technical insight and support of micrometeoroid and orbital debris protection and damage prediction.
S.N. Balakrishnan, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and an expert in developing missile guidance, was named Curators’ Professor of aerospace engineering during commencement on Dec. 18.
Roger A. LaBoube, Curators’ Teaching Professor emeritus of civil engineering, was named director of the Student Design and Experiential Learning Center in December.
The Career Opportunities Center became the career opportunities and employer relations department on Jan. 1. The name change better reflects the services the department offers.

Around the Puck

Q&A: Miners got game

What was the most memorable sports team during your time on campus? As part of his research for the S&T 150th history book, Larry Gragg, Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor emeritus of history and political science, asked you to share your memories. Here are a few of your answers.

[Read More...]

Honoring new academy members

In October, 12 alumni and friends were inducted into Missouri S&T academies. Academy membership recognizes careers of distinction and invites members to share their wisdom, influence and resources with faculty and students. Some academies hold induction ceremonies in the fall, others in the spring.

[Read More...]

Boosting cyber-physical security

A wide array of complex systems that rely on computers — from public water supply systems and electric grids to chemical plants and self-driving vehicles — increasingly come under not just digital but physical attacks. Bruce McMillin, professor and interim chair of computer science at Missouri S&T, is looking to change that by developing stronger safeguards […]

[Read More...]

MXene discovery could improve energy storage

In spite of their diminutive size, 2-D titanium carbide materials known as MXenes are “quite reactive” to water, a discovery S&T researchers say could have implications for energy storage and harvesting applications such as batteries, supercapacitors and beyond. Their findings were published in 2018 in the American Chemical Society journal Inorganic Chemistry.

[Read More...]

A faster charge for electric vehicles

One drawback of electric vehicles (EVs) is the time it takes to charge them. But what if you could plug in your EV and fully charge it as quickly as it takes to fill up a conventional car with gasoline? Missouri S&T researchers, in collaboration with three private companies, are working to make speedy charging […]

[Read More...]