I’d like to thank the academy

This year, 32 Missouri S&T alumni and former faculty were inducted
into one of Missouri S&T’s eight academies. Academy membership
recognizes a career of distinction and invites members to share their
wisdom, influence and resources with Missouri S&T faculty and
students. Academy members make up fewer than 1 percent of the alumni
base. Mechanical and aerospace engineering held its induction ceremony
in October. Engineering management held ceremonies in October and
April. The remaining academies held their induction ceremonies in

Chemical Engineering

  • Joel A. Brand, ChE’86, MS Phys’88, MS Math’94, of Austin, Texas, general partner and owner of Brand-Gaus LLC
  • Brian Donley, ChE’87, of St. Louis, manager of operational excellence at Coviden Healthcare
  • William R. Jones Jr., ChE’62, of Marana, Ariz., and North Olmsted, Ohio, a space tribology consultant for ATK/Swales Aerospace
  • Donald E. Puyear, ChE’54, MS ChE’58, of Goodyear, Ariz., president of Puyear Consulting LLC
  • Keith G. Tomazi, ChE’81, MS ChE’91, PhD ChE’93, of Florissant, Mo., technical fellow of Mallinckrodt Specialty Chemicals
  • Robert M. “Bob” Wellek, ChE’57, MS ChE’63, of Rockville, Md., deputy director of the National Science Foundation Civil Engineering
  • Greg Bolon, CE’85, of Kansas City, Mo., assistant division engineer at Kansas City (Mo.) Public Works
  • Franklin Cheng of Rolla, Mo., Curators’ Professor emeritus of civil engineering at Missouri S&T
  • Jeffrey Ger, MS CE’85, PhD CE’90, of Tallahassee, Fla., senior bridge engineer for the Federal Highway Administration’s Florida Division
  • Larry McCallister, CE’78, MS CE’79, of Huntsville, Ala., commander of the U.S. Army Engineer and Support Center
  • Ron Petering, CE’83, of Overland Park, Kan., president of Shafer, Kline & Warren Inc.
  • Lynne Puetz, CE’73, MS CE’82, of St. Louis, deputy west director and director of St. Louis operations for the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency
  • Steven R. Sieckhaus, CE’87, MS EMgt’90, of St. Louis, chief operating officer and partner at Clayco Inc.
  • Warren K. Wray of Rolla, Mo., provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs at Missouri S&T

Computer Science

  • John R. Hock, MS CSci’82, of St. Louis, a member of IBM’s systems and technology group
  • Randy Kerns, CSci’74, of Boulder, Colo., chief technology officer for ProStor Systems
  • Joan Woodard, Math’73, of Albuquerque, N.M., executive vice president and deputy laboratories director

Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Mark G. Fehlig, EE’73, of Atlanta, director of technical and engineering services for Georgia Public Broadcasting
  • Michael A. Perry, EE’72, of Overland Park, Kan., senior vice president and senior design director for Black and Veatch Corp.
  • David C. Raterman, EE’73, St. Louis director of agricultural engineering for Monsanto Co.
  • Kiritkumar S. Shah, EE’84, of St. Louis, manager of reliability standards and compliance for Ameren UE
  • David A. Whiteley, MS EE’84, of Princeton, N.J., executive vice president for North American Electrical Reliability Corp.

Engineering Management

  • John F. Bade, EMgt’87, of St. Louis, a member of the support systems division at The Boeing Co.
  • George R. Cuthbertson (posthumously), former associate professor and acting chair of engineering management at Missouri S&T
  • Kevin Fritzmeyer, EMgt’85, of Chesterfield, Mo., vice president of Cameron Holdings
  • Jesse “Tom” McMahan, EE’66, of Alexandria, Va., co-president and founder of Modern Technology Solutions Inc.

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Raymond Bucy Jr., ME’58, of Vashon Island, Wash., retired general manager of Military Product Engineers of GE Aircraft Engines
  • Russell Flye, ME’71, of Pasco, Wash., deputy engineering manager for the K-Basin Closure Project at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation
  • Jada Reese, ME’84, of Florissant, Mo., director of human resources for Express Scripts
  • Jon Schneider, ME’87, of St. Louis, director of technical and professional development for The Boeing Co.
  • Lisa Sombart, ME’84, of Webster Groves, Mo., senior vice president and a director of William Tao & Associates Inc.
  • Gregory Williams, ME’76, of Grapevine, Texas, executive vice president of corporate development and marketing for Wayport Inc.

Around the Puck

Q&A: Miners got game

What was the most memorable sports team during your time on campus? As part of his research for the S&T 150th history book, Larry Gragg, Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor emeritus of history and political science, asked you to share your memories. Here are a few of your answers.

[Read More...]

Honoring new academy members

In October, 12 alumni and friends were inducted into Missouri S&T academies. Academy membership recognizes careers of distinction and invites members to share their wisdom, influence and resources with faculty and students. Some academies hold induction ceremonies in the fall, others in the spring.

[Read More...]

Boosting cyber-physical security

A wide array of complex systems that rely on computers — from public water supply systems and electric grids to chemical plants and self-driving vehicles — increasingly come under not just digital but physical attacks. Bruce McMillin, professor and interim chair of computer science at Missouri S&T, is looking to change that by developing stronger safeguards […]

[Read More...]

MXene discovery could improve energy storage

In spite of their diminutive size, 2-D titanium carbide materials known as MXenes are “quite reactive” to water, a discovery S&T researchers say could have implications for energy storage and harvesting applications such as batteries, supercapacitors and beyond. Their findings were published in 2018 in the American Chemical Society journal Inorganic Chemistry.

[Read More...]

A faster charge for electric vehicles

One drawback of electric vehicles (EVs) is the time it takes to charge them. But what if you could plug in your EV and fully charge it as quickly as it takes to fill up a conventional car with gasoline? Missouri S&T researchers, in collaboration with three private companies, are working to make speedy charging […]

[Read More...]