Miner swimmers win NSISC – again

Posted by
On March 17, 2008

The Missouri S&T swimming team won a second straight New South Intercollegiate Swimming Championship title in February in Cleveland, Miss., gaining several high finishes and their 12th and 13th national qualifiers in the process.

The Miners finished the meet with 830 1⁄2 points, well ahead of the 733 posted by runner-up Ouachita Baptist.

During the meet, freshman Aaron Schmidt became the Miners’ 13th swimmer to qualify for the NCAA Division II Championships. Schmidt reached the finals with a time of 1:50.68 in the 200-yard backstroke to qualify for the Division II Championships.

The championships were held March 12 at the Mizzou Aquatics Center at the University of Missouri’s Columbia campus. Results were not available at press time. Watch for details in the summer issue.

Earlier in the NSISC event, Brian Howell became the 12th Missouri S&T swimmer to qualify for the nationals by posting at a time of 1:52.72 in the 200-yard butterfly. Prior to the February NSISC meet, the following Miners
qualified for nationals with performances at the Arkansas-Little Rock Invitational in December:

Individual qualifiers (as of March 1):

  • Zlatan Hamzic, 100-yard breaststroke, 56.68.
  • Matt Hug, 500-yard freestyle, 4:31.12.
  • Danny Murphy, 400-yard individual medley, 4:01.86.
  • Kyle Kammer, 200-yard backstroke, 1:50.43 (a school record).
  • Jeff Enge, 200-yard backstroke, 1:51.55.
  • David Calcara, 200-yard breaststroke, 2:04.92.

Team qualifiers (as of March 1):

  • Kyle Gordon, Mark Chamberlain, David Sanchez-Turner and Hug, 200-yard freestyle relay, 1:23.32.
  • Murphy, Gordon, Andrew Trowbridge and Hug, 800-yard freestyle relay, 6:51.31.
  • Kammer, Hamzic, Paul Reinisch and Sanchez-Turner, 400-yard medley relay, 3:24.55.
Posted by

On March 17, 2008. Posted in Sports, Spring 2008