Honorary Knights of St. Patrick

Honorary Knights of St. Patrick, chosen each year by the St. Pat’s Committee and the UMR chancellor, are chosen for the service they’ve performed for the campus, the Rolla community, the state of Missouri, the nation and/or the St. Pat’s tradition.

Merl Baker
Richard Ichord*
Eugene Northern*
James J. Murphy,* CE’35
J. P. Patterson*
A. Vern Kilpatrick*

Warren Hearnes
John C. Weaver*
Samuel H. Lloyd,* ME’47
Robert V. Wolf,* ME’51
Harry Kessler,* MetE’24
Homer Tucker*
Gene Sally
Gerald Lowther
H. P. Montgomery*

Gale Bullman*
Karl Mounder*
Ray Kasten,* CE’43
William Kratzer*
F. Stillman Elfred,* MinE’17
Edward Owsley*

Stuart Symington*
C. Brice Ratchford*
G. Edwin Lorey
Bill L. Atchley,* CE’57
Rudolph Torrini
Robert L. Burnes*
John Tryon*
Curtis Logan*
Edward Sowers*

James C. Kirkpatrick*
Aaron J. Miles,* Math’30
Dr. E.E. Feind *
Francis C. Edwards*

Thomas Eagleton*
J. Stuart Johnson*
Jerome T. Berry,* CE’49
Peter Mattei,* CE’37
Elizabeth Lorey

Dudley Thompson*
Theodore McNeal*
Victor Lomax, Hist’73
James McGrath, CE’32
Thomas O’Keefe, MetE’58
Robert Brady*

Christopher “Kit” Bond
Raymond Bisplinghoff*
Herald Barnes*
Robert Schuchardt, MetE’51

Jerry McBride
Margaret McCaw Lloyd,* GGph’81
Theodore Planje,* CerE’40
Hans Schmoldt, ChE’44
James S. Trainer*

Joseph Carlo
Paul Dowling, MetE’40
Mrs. V.H. McNutt,* Hon’67
David Oakley
Russell Perry
Jim C. Pogue*
Edward Smith,* EMgt’24

John Danforth
Robert Brackbill, MinE’42
Adrian Daane
Virgil Flanigan, ME’60
C. James Grimm,* EE’30
James C. Olson*
John D. Powell, NDD’47
Marie Sidner*

J.C. Alexander*
Philip Barry
Richard H. Bauer, ChE’51
James Halligan
Joseph Marchello,* former UMR chancellor
Faye Tracey

Jack Keane
Robert McKune
Ralph Uthlaut
Bob Mornin,* CerE’48
B. Ken Robertson
James Wieberg
Sally White,* former UMR staff member

Dewey Allgood
Harold Atwell, EE’56
Mel Carnahan
John Kelley
Frank Mackaman*
Joseph Mooney,* EMgt’39
Mary Williams

Leonard Koederitz, ChE’68
James Mallor
Louise Marchello
Thomas Murphy
Al Nilges
David Simily

Robert Berry, CE’72
William Cocos
Robert Davis
Bill Emerson,* CE’44
Frank Lange
David Steelman
Dorothea Wolf

Keith Bailey, ME’64
Normal Deleo
Katherine Jenks*
William Jenks Jr.*
Robert Roach*
Neil Smith
Mike Lybyer
Howard Kilroy

James Anderson, CE’55
John Ashcroft
Lyle Meyer
Leola Millar*
James Mullally Jr.*
Stan Spadoni
Don Warner

Marvin Barker
Ken Lanning*
Harvey G. Martin
Donald McGovern
Lenore Jones Morris*
John T. Park, former UMR chancellor
Bill Ransdall

Arthur Baebler, ME’55
Donald Castleman*
Jeanne V. Epple
Martin Jischke
Margaret Kelly
Fred Kummer, CE’55

Donald Askeland
Robert Bruce, EMgt’69
Betsey Bruce
Robert Collins
Marvin Proffer
Lowell Wynn

Mark Bruno, NDD’70
Floyd Ferrell
Daniel B. Horner
Glendon “Jake” Stevens Jr.,* CE’64, MS CE’66, PhD CE’70
Richard Vehige, ME’68
James K. Richardson* MinE’32

Ken Fiebelman
Tom Green
Doris Kirkpatrick
Linda Martin Sharp
James Sterling
Armin Tucker,* MinE’40

Billy Key, professor emeritus of physical education
Carol Molchan, former UMR staff member
J. Robert Patterson, CE’54
Jack Ridley, Curators’ Teaching Professor emeritus of history and political science
Ed Schmidt, ME’67
Ike Skelton

Mrs. Gale Bullman,* Hon’64
Gregory McClain, EMgt’72
Jane O’Keefe
Louise Flanigan

Matteo Coco, CE’66
Margaret Cossette
Donald L. Cronin, professor emeritus of mechanical and aerospace engineering
Marcus D. Ramsey, CE’72
Thomas S. Sowers

Kent Bagnall, CE’76
Lindsay Bagnall, Psych’76, senior secretary in distance and continuing education
Jean Carnahan
Christopher Ramsay, MetE’83, MS MetE’85, associate professor of materials science and engineering
William A. Stoltz, EMgt’68

Joe N. Ballard, MS EMgt’72
Donald G. Brackhahn, Hon’93, former UMR staff member
Steve Burch
Dorcas Park, Hon’99
Elwyn E. Wax

William Anderson Jr., CE’67, MS CE’70
Rebecca McDowell Cook
Robert Fitzsimmons
Jerry Gilmore, ME’60, MS ME’63
Jarena Whitson

John Bartel, CerE’52
JoAnn Emerson
Steve Gaw
Mary Gillespie
Lance Haynes, professor of speech and media studies
Wendell Ogrosky, former UMR staff member
James Sowers, CSci’69
Fred Voss

Gracia Backer
Steve Bowles
Terry Brewer
Richard Hatfield, former UMR staff member
John Mathes, CE’67, MS CE’68
Norman Tucker, MinE’40

Thomas Akers, Math’73, MS Math’75
Jerry Bayless, CE’59, MS CE’62
John Russell
Randy Verkamp, EMgt’72
Dain Ward*

James Bertelsmeyer, ChE’66
William Bleckman, UMR Police chief
Lawrence George, Hon’89, former UMR staff member
Claire McCaskill
Joseph Morgan
Sarah Steelman

Nicholas Barrack, EE’75, MS EMgt’76
Nancy Brackhahn, Hon’96
Walt Gajda Jr., professor emeritus of electrical and computer engineering
Bob May
Robert Mitchell, former dean of the School of Engineering
Zebulun Nash, ChE’93
William Peach, NDD’75
Theodore Weise, EE’67

John Butz
Jeff Cawlfield, professor of geological sciences and engineering
John Cummings, MetE’74
Manuel Pacheco, former president of the University of Missouri System

Andrew Careaga, director of communications
Arlan DeKock, former chair of the School of Management and Information Systems
Brian Haller
Cindy Tang, Econ’85
Jinny Ryle, former UMR staff member
Sigrid Cronin

Robin Carnahan
Delbert Day, CerE’58, Curators’ Professor emeritus of materials science and engineering
Jim Hartman
Dan Hinkle, EMgt’73
Gary Thomas, former UMR chancellor
Kathy Voss

James O. Guest, ME’62, MS EMgt’71
Edgar G. H. Emery, PetE’72
Larry Hendren, MinE’73
Wayne Huebner, CerE’82, PhD CerE’87, professor of materials science and engineering
Kevin Brady, manager of business and fiscal operations for UMR student affairs
Meg Brady, CSci’83, MS CSci’89, computer project manager for UMR IT
Terry Bone, Chem’76, MS Chem’79, PhD Chem’90, lecturer in chemistry
Lucy Sutcliffe, former UMR staff member

Elvan Akin-Bohner, assistant professor of mathematics and statistics
Robert D. Bay, CE’49
John Beger
Roger Berkbuegler
Martin Bohner, associate professor of mathematics and statistics
Gerald Meyr, EMgt’76
Don Myers, ME’61, MS ME’64, professor of engineering management and systems engineering
Debra Robinson, vice chancellor of student affairs
Joyce Thomas, Engl’78

John F. Carney III, UMR chancellor
Davis Haas
Dee Haemmerlie Montgomery, Curators’ Teaching Professor of psychology
William S. Jenks III
Shelley Klossner
William Schonberg, chair of civil, architectural and environmental engineering
Gary White, CE’85, MS CE’87

Around the Puck

“Forged in Gold: Missouri S&T’s First 150 Years”

In the 1870s, Rolla seemed an unlikely location for a new college. There were only about 1,400 residents in a community with more saloons than houses of worship. There were no paved streets, sewers or water mains. To visitors, there seemed to be as many dogs, hogs, horses, ducks and geese as humans walking the dusty streets.

[Read More...]

By the numbers: Fall/Winter 2019

[Read More...]

Bringing clean water to South America

Assessing water quality, surveying mountaintop locations and building systems to catch rainwater — that’s how members of S&T’s chapter of Engineers Without Borders spent their summer break.

[Read More...]

Geothermal goals exceeded

After five years of operation, Missouri S&T’s geothermal energy system continues to outperform expectations. S&T facilities operations staff originally predicted the geothermal system would reduce campus water usage by over 10% — roughly 10 million gallons per year. The system, which went online in May 2014, cut actual water usage by 18 million to 20 […]

[Read More...]

What happens in Vegas…may appear in print

In his latest volume of Las Vegas lore, historian Larry Gragg says it was deliberate publicity strategies that changed the perception of Sin City from a regional tourist destination where one could legally gamble and access legalized prostitution just outside the city limits, to a family vacation spot filled with entertainment options and surrounded by […]

[Read More...]